Not An Emergency, But Urgent Help Needed, Please !!

Decorating By cyndi29609 Updated 22 May 2009 , 2:47am by cyndi29609

cyndi29609 Posted 21 May 2009 , 5:37pm
post #1 of 8

I'm going to build a Tilted cake for my daughter's 9th birthday party May 30...that's 9 days. I'm not even a semi-pro at constructing cakes or decorating them. I'm a complete novice and amateur. I'm using the wonderful step by step instructions by B.Kieth and I love it that she included photos. But I still have some questions;

1. First, what's the best cake recipe to use when constructing something this big? I would guess I wouldn't want a light fluffy cake(?)

2. Each level, which is tapered (wide at the top gradually narrowing to the bottom), is FIRST set up largest on the bottom tapering UPWARD so that it's easier to work with. Afterwords you flip it over. My question is; HOW DO YOU FLIP IT OVER, right-side-up without destroying the cake?

3. What is the best method for lifting one layer and then lower it onto the the layer it goes on top of?

and

4. Can this cake actually be eaten after the fondant has hardened and there's a "skeleton" inside it?

These are the questions that are holding me up from going ahead with it. I'm scared to death when it comes to moving layers. I probably have a lot of other questions that will pop up along the way, bu
t I think I can figure them out. I just don't want to begin without knowing this first.

Thank you for any help you give me!

[/b]

7 replies
artscallion Posted 21 May 2009 , 5:56pm
post #2 of 8

I have no advice for you. There are experienced bakers/decorators who would not attempt what you're attempting. But God bless you for your apparent lack of fear as you walk blindly into the abyss. icon_biggrin.gif

Texas_Rose Posted 21 May 2009 , 6:17pm
post #3 of 8

I haven't made a cake like you're planning. I can answer a couple of your questions though.