Do You Measure Or Do You Eyeball?

Decorating By cakes22 Updated 22 May 2009 , 4:01am by Cakepro

cakes22 Posted 21 May 2009 , 1:31pm
post #1 of 18

I'm sure most of you have been baking for a while. I can't count the number of times I have made buttercream. So that got me thinking: how many of you still measure your ingredients & how many of you just eyeball and go with instinct? I understand that baking requires precision, this is more on the topic of icing.

17 replies
PinkZiab Posted 21 May 2009 , 1:41pm
post #2 of 18

I still measure... actually I WEIGH everything... I'm a classicly trained pastry chef, so it's just drilled into my brain to always measure and measure accurately. So even with my icing (usually meringue based) I still weigh it all out. Although any additions I make to flavor my BC (nut pastes, fruit purees, etc) I usually eyeball and go according to taste rather than measurement.

-K8memphis Posted 21 May 2009 , 1:42pm
post #3 of 18

I've evolved over the years. I started out faithfully measuring--then I eyeballed for a long time--now I measure/weigh again.

sweet_teeth Posted 21 May 2009 , 1:49pm
post #4 of 18

I don't think i've ever measured my frosting. I make American buttercream and basically eyeball it. I know how much P.S. comes in each bag, and butter is already premeasured, and if I need to use a little crisco I just eyeball it. For the flavorings, sometimes i'll pour them into the cap, but that's unlikely.

Mmm it just means I have to do more taste tests to ensure quality control icon_wink.gif

Caralinc Posted 21 May 2009 , 1:54pm
post #5 of 18

Hi all,

Glad I found this post today. I have been thinking of changing over to weighing. It sounds soooo much easier than measuring everything.

PinkZiab and k8memphis, can I ask what brand you are using to weigh and how big and all that good stuff? I don't know much about that product. icon_smile.gif Thanks Carrie

Caralinc Posted 21 May 2009 , 1:58pm
post #6 of 18