Cake Testing Cost Me 25.00 Per Cake Flavor

Decorating By S67906 Updated 27 May 2009 , 6:30am by margaretb

S67906 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
S67906 Posted 21 May 2009 , 10:12am
post #1 of 23

Hello everyone,

Our daughter is getting married in a five months. I was recommended to a wonderful lady in our complex that makes cakes professionally. I made an appointment, liked what I seen and contacted my daughter and her fiancee to meet with the cake lady.

My problem, the cake lady said a week before the cake testing that it would cost 25.00 for the cake testing. I was hesitant but I said ok, because I am the mother of the brid and I am new to this. She forward my daughter the variety of cakes she makes and our daughter and her fiancee selected four different flavors they wanted to taste.

I contacted my daughter to make sure she sent her cake testing selection over asap, she finally did. The cake lady called me and said she would come by my home and pick up the check. I wrote out the 25.00 check.

When she arrived she said no, it is 25.00 per cake my mouthed dropped. I said you never told me that she said oh no it will be 25.00 per cake and your daughter selected four different flavors. I wrote out the check yesterday because I an new to the mother of bride bit.

Is this normal, am I being taken advantage of, that is awfully high. It is 6:00am on the east coast and I am going to contact some professional wedding cake bakers in addition to wedding planners to see if this right?

What do you think? The cake lady said the cakes they can bring home but in the back of my mind, I was thinking this does not sound right. Please educate me.

22 replies
roweeena Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
roweeena Posted 21 May 2009 , 10:31am
post #2 of 23

First off, Congratulations on your daughter getting married! Its a very exciting time.