Backwards Roses?

Decorating By rharris524 Updated 22 May 2009 , 3:45pm by cakedout

rharris524 Posted 20 May 2009 , 8:30pm
post #1 of 19

I'm mostly self taught when it comes to cake decorating and I wanted to get better, so I signed up for the Wilton cake decorating classes. Anyhow, I apparently turn my rose nail the wrong way (CW instead of CCW, I'm right handed). My instructor complemented me on my roses and I think that they look good but my instructor keeps trying make me turn my nail the opposite way...does it really matter? Why does it make a difference?

18 replies
bisbqueenb Posted 20 May 2009 , 8:35pm
post #2 of 19

If it works your way...do it your way! It is not HOW you get there...but the end result that counts! If you like your roses...fine....if you have issues with them go ahead and TRY it the other way and see what suits you the best. There are a lot of ways to do things...you just have to find the best for you. I CAN'T for the life of me make a good rose on a rose nail, but hand me a dowel stick and I can pipe them all day and they look great!

TexasSugar Posted 20 May 2009 , 8:40pm
post #3 of 19

As a WMI I do point out and try to get my students to turn their nail CCW instead of clock wise. Usually turning the nail the wrong way makes it harder on my students though since you are often dragging that tip through what you piping.

If someone just does it alot better CW I don't push. Though I do tell them that my job is to teach them the Wilton way. They can always do what they want in their kitchen, but if they do decide later on they want to become an WMI then they need to know how to do it the Wilton way.

If you are completely happy with it your way, then do it that way. The WMI is just trying to be helpful, I'm sure. icon_smile.gif

rharris524 Posted 20 May 2009 , 8:46pm
post #4 of 19