Fondant And Pine Tree Help

Decorating By kchart Updated 14 Jun 2011 , 6:04pm by brookelashea

kchart Posted 20 May 2009 , 2:46pm
post #1 of 12

Hi everyone,
I've been decorating for a few years and have recently starting using fondant. I've noticed that when the fondant dries it is sometimes cracking. Do I need to add anything to the fondant to make that not happen? I'm using satin ice fondant. Also, I have a big wedding cake coming up for my cousin. It's going to be a 4 tier outdoorsy type cake....waterfall, moss, rocks and pine trees. Any suggestions or guides on how to make pine trees (either out of fondant or icing). Well, thanks for the help.

11 replies
margaretb Posted 20 May 2009 , 6:09pm
post #2 of 12

Pine trees -- I like the ice cream cone method. Get cone shaped ones (not cup). You can cut them to desired size with a serrated knife. I used green icing and a star tip and just put stars all over them. I think I held them by the tip and then finished the very top after I pressed them onto the cake (it was in the fall, so I don't remember exactly). I have only posted two photos, so just click on my photos if you want to see.

Kitagrl Posted 20 May 2009 , 6:12pm
post #3 of 12

I like the star tip method for pine trees too...for smaller ones I just put a pretzel stick in the cake and then do small pull out stars around it tapering to the top.

TantalizingTreats Posted 20 May 2009 , 6:19pm
post #4 of 12

Aine2 has a great tutorial for pine trees... and its really easy

iamelms Posted 20 May 2009 , 6:22pm
post #5 of 12

I made pine trees for an outdoors cake, and used the icecream cones as a base too, but instead of the star tip, I used the leaf tip #352 and they turned out really well

tiggerjo Posted 20 May 2009 , 6:26pm
post #6 of 12