Help With Gumpaste Or Fondant Characters

Decorating By jrough76 Updated 19 May 2009 , 6:03pm by mindy1204

jrough76 Posted 18 May 2009 , 9:45pm
post #1 of 8

Hello. I thought I posted this somewhere on this site but I can't find it anywhere. So, here I go again.

My name is Jill. I am new here. I love to make cakes and love to try new things. I am not a professional or even any where near being one. My daughter asked me to make her birthday cake this year. We are doing an Alice in Wonderland theme. I want to make a really special cake. I would like to have characters on the cake. I have a few questions though.

What is better and easier to work with, gumpaste or fondant?

How long do they typically need to dry before they are hard?

Are there any tips or tricks to working with this stuff?

And last but not least, is there anyone that makes the characters and ships them? No one in my area will make them to sell. They only make them if you buy the whole cake. Since my daughter asked me to make her cake, I really want to do that.

Thank so much.
Any advice is appreciated.

7 replies
whitet4 Posted 18 May 2009 , 9:53pm
post #2 of 8

There is a lady on Etsy that makes fondant figures and sells them. You might want to look on there. As for making them yourself a mix of the two would be the best and I usually let things try for about 3 days and your good to go.

jlynnw Posted 18 May 2009 , 9:55pm
post #3 of 8

Welcome to CC!

I am new at making figures as well. I have found for me, I like a 50/50 fondant gumpaste mix. The fondant does not dry as fast as the gumpaste and therefore, you can work it longer. I wish I had more answer for you but will keep checking in to learn with you.

icer101 Posted 18 May 2009 , 9:58pm
post #4 of 8