Can Piping Gel Go Bad?

Decorating By texasseegirl Updated 18 Jun 2009 , 12:36pm by LittleLinda

texasseegirl Posted 18 May 2009 , 1:28am
post #1 of 19

I have had a container of piping gel - unopened - for a long time - maybe close to 2 years. icon_surprised.gif I have never used piping gel before so I'm not sure what it should look like or what the consistency should be. Would it still be good if it has never been opened? It doesn't seem to smell bad - it has a yellow tint to it though and I didn't know if it should be a clear color.

Bottom line - what should I be looking for to determine if it is still ok to use! icon_cool.gif

Thanks!

Michelle

18 replies
Cakepro Posted 18 May 2009 , 2:49am
post #2 of 19

It naturally has a yellowish tint to it. The piping gel I've seen that is no longer good has gelled into a clump. If you can stir it and it behaves normally with no odor or funky stuff in it, I would think it is good to use.

TexasSugar Posted 18 May 2009 , 2:52am
post #3 of 19

I'm with CakePro. I just opened one up that I had in my cake room that has been in there a good year or two, and it was fine.

LittleLinda Posted 18 May 2009 , 2:52am
post #4 of 19

I wondered the same about the stuff. I have some opened. I know you are not supposed to store it in the fridge. I tried to make my own twice and failed miserably.

sweetcravings Posted 18 May 2009 , 2:53am
post #5 of 19

great question..i was thinking about this very same thing a few weeks back. I have an opened container of it in my pantry that is at least a yr or more old.

mareg Posted 18 May 2009 , 6:49pm
post #6 of 19

Why are you not supposed to put the gel in the fridge?

mbt4955 Posted 18 May 2009 , 6:57pm
post #7 of 19