How To Make A Basket Handle

Decorating By Karenreg Updated 18 May 2009 , 1:34pm by djs328

Karenreg Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Karenreg Posted 17 May 2009 , 5:27pm
post #1 of 7

I am a novice in cake decoration & was planning to make a basket cake, could some1 please advise me on how i can make a handle for the basket.I wanna make something that resembles the handles of a basket that they use for easter eggs.I guess i need to make it with fondant. I just wanna know how do i make an arch of the handle & ensure that it remains firm & doesn't collapse. I haven't used gumpaste before.

6 replies
agroeve Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
agroeve Posted 17 May 2009 , 7:16pm
post #2 of 7

when i made the handle for the basket in my pics i used a thin piece of card measured to how big i wanted the handle attached it to the cake where the handle was going to sit and then draped the gumpaste over it until it dried. then just removed the card and secured the handle in place. gumpaste is not heavy enough to distort the card and it worked out perfectly for me
hope this helps

cherrycakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cherrycakes Posted 17 May 2009 , 7:25pm
post #3 of 7

I made a basket handle using royal icing. There's a pattern on Wilton that you can download and use the rope border (I think tip 22). The pattern is made for an 8" round but you could enlarge it or modify it for a different shape cake too. The cake is in my gallery if you want to see what it looks like. Oh, the handle was very strong (I put small pieces of straw into the bottom of the handle to stick into the cake) and it long outlived the cake!

Karenreg Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Karenreg Posted 18 May 2009 , 6:55am
post #4 of 7

agroeve - Thanks a lot for ur prompt response .I liked the handle you made but I haven't used gumpaste before so do not know how to go about using it.Is it ok if I try making it with fondant to which a little gumtex is added?