Newbie (As In Never Baked A Cake) Needs Help!

Decorating By CupcakeClaudia Updated 16 May 2009 , 10:39pm by sayhellojana

CupcakeClaudia Posted 16 May 2009 , 8:31am
post #1 of 24

I am absolutely crazy about cakes and cupcakes, eating and looking at them!!
This is the main reason i got to this webbie, looking at the amazing cakes you all make, and im addicted to the disasters forum!

I have never baked a cake, unless you count fruit cakes and boxed stuff.

I would like to try my hand and making one from scratch and decorating it for my husbands birthday, im being ambitious as im planning to do an R2D2 or a Darth Vader's helmet.

I am in desperate need of a really nice and yummy cake firm enough to take on the weight of the decoration and that will retain its shape when i cut it.

I would love it if any of you could share your recipe with me.

I have looked through the recipes forum and although they look delicious as a newbie i do not know which one is the best for my project. And unfortunately i know a boxed sponge would not take the weight and hacking!

Many many thanks for your help!!!

23 replies
Evoir Posted 16 May 2009 , 8:55am
post #2 of 24

You need a nice firm cake if you intend to carve it and apply smooth fondant. I use a chocolate mudcake recipe for that (either dark, white or caramel). I don't have a recipe on CC yet, but that might steer you in the right direction! One trick to remember is to refrigerate a cake (or freeze it) to get it nice and firm as well.

I know a lot of folks here swear by the WASC cake.

Good luck with it - this website should provide you with loads of know-how AND inspiration!

Cocoby Posted 16 May 2009 , 8:59am
post #3 of 24