Cream Cheese Frosting

Baking By pjem Updated 20 May 2009 , 1:11pm by ziggytarheel

pjem Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
pjem Posted 16 May 2009 , 3:05am
post #1 of 11

This may be a silly question but I am in the process of frosting a cake with a cream cheese frosting. I have never used cream cheese frosting before and was wondering if I had to refrigerate the cake after it is frosted. I do not usually refrigerate my cakes. If it does need to be refrigerated, how long can I leave it out during a wedding or paryt? I would appreciate any help.

Thanks icon_confused.gif

10 replies
floridagal Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
floridagal Posted 16 May 2009 , 3:18am
post #2 of 11

I've left cream cheese frosting out overnight and it's been fine. I just read a recipe for CCF on Epicurious and they said you could leave it out for 8 hours.
I hope that helps.

Melissa

pjem Posted 16 May 2009 , 1:34pm
post #3 of 11

Thanks for the help. That is what I needed to know. I did have some trouble with this recipe though. It was too thin to begin with and was sliding off the sides of the cake and mine seemed to be al little greasy. I added more sugar and that seemed to help but it tastes great.

pammy103 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
pammy103 Posted 19 May 2009 , 6:16pm
post #4 of 11

I will be making a carrot cake with cr cheese frosting for my mil 80th birthday. We will eat it Sat. night and I need to decorate it on Fri. and transport it to a lake house on Sat. morning. I do plan to use some fondant decorations. I'm concerned about refrigerating it. 1. because of the cr cheese frosting and 2. because of the fondant on it.

Any thoughts or recommendations?

floridagal Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
floridagal Posted 19 May 2009 , 9:27pm
post #5 of 11