Wish Me Luck Today - Live Bowls Between Cake Tiers!

Decorating By jenng1482 Updated 18 May 2009 , 3:56pm by mommyle

jenng1482 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jenng1482 Posted 15 May 2009 , 2:02pm
post #1 of 49

I'm fairly new at this and am trying something totally new and crazy today. I am placing shallow glass bowls between 3 double layer tiers with live fish in them! I had 3" diameter PVC pipe cut to the exact height of the bottom and middle tiers to support the weight of the bowls and put the middle tier on a dbl layer board. I am obviously going to asseble cake at reception. Any other ideas, thoughts, words of advice?

48 replies
brannendeville Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
brannendeville Posted 15 May 2009 , 2:06pm
post #2 of 49

Good Luck!

bbmom Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
bbmom Posted 15 May 2009 , 2:08pm
post #3 of 49

ummm....how long will the live fish be in the cake? I'm assuming that the bowls will be covered by the next tiers cake plate and therefore no air will get in. When you buy a fish, they put it in a bag and its sealed...you can only have them in there for a short while before they run out of oxygen and die. So thats my only concern is that the bowl will be covered and so no air.

SOULLA13 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SOULLA13 Posted 15 May 2009 , 2:09pm
post #4 of 49

i 2nd that too, wont the fish die???

Kimmers971 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Kimmers971 Posted 15 May 2009 , 2:10pm
post #5 of 49

Good Luck! But I'd be concerned about the fish not getting any air and dying while sitting out there (won't be an appetizing site).

JawdroppingCakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
JawdroppingCakes Posted 15 May 2009 , 2:13pm
post #6 of 49

You should buy the beta fish....they dont need any air. They sell them at Wal-Mart on the shelves in the pet department. They sit in their own container with a lid and no air so they shouldn't die.

Oh, and good luck!

solascakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile