How Would You Do This? Lace Pattern? 200 People? Scary!

Decorating By jardot22 Updated 22 May 2009 , 8:37pm by jardot22

jardot22 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jardot22 Posted 14 May 2009 , 7:35pm
post #1 of 21

Ok, so I was asked to give a quote for the attached cake. I have never done a pattern like that before, and was wondering if anyone can tell me how I would accomplish that look? And I've never done a tiered construction before either, let alone with flowers all up in the middle like that. Help! LOL. I would love to help her out, but this is a little nerve-racking to me.
LL

20 replies
weirkd Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
weirkd Posted 14 May 2009 , 11:12pm
post #2 of 21

It looks like they used a lace mold. You can buy them at several different places online.(Caljava, Global Sugar Art, and Jennifer Dontz carries some nice ones) Basically the fondant is rolled very thin and pressed into the mold. Then its draped onto the cake. You could also use a textured rolling pin or mat and achieve the same look. Then just cut the edge in a scallop fashion like its shown.
As far as the stacking, you want to get plates that have the poles that go to them. Inside the cakes you want to dowel or use bubble-tea staws all around where the plate is going to sit. Then its just stacking them. If you use real flowers, you want to make sure they are pesticide free from the florist and not touching the cake at all. Some florists can actually make the arrangements for you. I know my local florist will charge from $25 - $50 for each tier.

sweetcakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sweetcakes Posted 17 May 2009 , 3:49am
post #3 of 21

it looks like cornelli lace to me. simply a wiggly line of continious piping, not touching or overlapping. looking at the edge its not a set pattern thats what makes me think its cornelli. very pretty cake.

bizatchgirl Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
bizatchgirl Posted 17 May 2009 , 3:53am
post #4 of 21