Help! Baker Bailed Need Advice! Long Sorry

Decorating By huntforjulia Updated 14 May 2009 , 1:38pm by tiggy2

huntforjulia Posted 13 May 2009 , 3:08pm
post #1 of 10

My daughter is getting married June 6 2009. Now it looks like I will have to make the cake. June 6th seems to be a popular date in this area, walmart supercenter bakery is available but is a 45minute drive. I Have some experience, took the wilton class, made cakes for the catering company I used to work for, done some wedding cakes for family/friends, never a stacked cake. My daughters cake is supposed to be a 4 tier topsy turvy cake. I am worried about the whole thing falling over. I have searched all over and found to tilt the cake use, frosting styrofoam and the directions on here. to save time I thought about buying the cakes at walmart already covered and then just stacking and decorating myself. Would this work? Another complication is I would also have to pick them up thursday before the saturday wedding. Would an sps system help? My daughter is looking for other cakes but had set her heart on this is and is frustated so not really into looking for another cake. the wedding is nice and normal the reception is mardi gras theme. I will take ANY and ALL ideas.

9 replies
tiggy2 Posted 13 May 2009 , 3:18pm
post #2 of 10

If you've never done a topsy turvy I'd do a practice one now. There are tutorials if you do a web search. tonedna on this site has made some beautiful ones and is always willing to answer questions. She may have a tutorial on youtube. Send her a pm via this site. Go to member list at the top of this page then search for tonedna. Once you find her you'll have the option of sneding her a private message. Hope that helps.

Ruth0209 Posted 13 May 2009 , 3:19pm
post #3 of 10