?- Let Bride Drive Cake 3 Hours?

Decorating By brea1026 Updated 13 May 2009 , 10:26pm by gailsgoodies

brea1026 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
brea1026 Posted 12 May 2009 , 11:23pm
post #1 of 18

Okay, soooo here is my delema. I am NOT a professional cake decorator. I happily make cakes for all my friends and family, and luckily tons of people I went to school and church with growing up are getting married, having kids, etc etc. So I have had a lot of guinea pigs.

So, a girl I know is getting married in Sedona, AZ which is almost 3 hours away from my house in phx area. I am a stay at home mom of 3 little kids (baby included) and don't want to ask my hubby to take one of his few days off- on a friday- so I can deliver a cake. I have made it very clear to this girl that if I do decide to make the cake for her that I can not guarantee that it will make it to the reception in good condition. I usually assemble all of my cakes on location and have never tried to drive a 3 tier-75 ppl cake. She says she is fine with that and is willing to take her chances because she really wants one of my cakes.

So my question is- would you do it? If so, do you have any sugguestions about making the cake as stable as possible. I cover my cakes with Satin Ice, so hopefully that will help. I also keep it in a very cold fridge until people pick them up.

Thanks for any advice you may have! Breanna

17 replies
bizatchgirl Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
bizatchgirl Posted 12 May 2009 , 11:29pm
post #2 of 18

Talk to LeahS or find the sticky at the top of the forums for SPS. According to LeahS, she's done cakes of 5 tiers and transported them fully stacked with no problems. That's from memory, not a direct quote.

confectioneista Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
confectioneista Posted 12 May 2009 , 11:34pm
post #3 of 18