Wilton Castle Kits

Decorating By manahigh Updated 14 May 2009 , 10:18pm by sweet1122

manahigh Posted 12 May 2009 , 3:59pm
post #1 of 19

I am considering buying one for a castle cake for my grand-daughter upcoming birthday cake. Can anyone give me any pros and cons regarding this kit? I am just a home baker that enjoys doing cakes for family so my skills are so so. I have worked with fondant although I have yet to cover a cake with it. Any information regarding this product would be so appreciated. Thanks in advance.

18 replies
SweetMelissa2007 Posted 12 May 2009 , 7:06pm
post #2 of 19

I have it. It is very easy to use, just takes a long time to make the bits and pieces to go on it (flowers and leaves). I only covered the top of the turrets in fondant-I just used a little bit of piping gel to "glue" the fondant to the turret. The only real downfall would be spending $20 and only using it once. I've used it twice now, so I guess I'm getting my $$ worth, except they were both free cakes!!

manahigh Posted 12 May 2009 , 7:30pm
post #3 of 19

Thanks for a quick response, SweetMelissa. I think you did a wonderful job using the kit. I love how you used the flowers to accent the cake. Did you transport the cake? I will have to take it to my daughter's home (30 mins away) and am concerned about the towers staying put and not falling over during the trip. I don't mind spending the money because I have four other granddaughters and I am sure I will have the opportunity to use it many times.

Is there anyone out there that had a difficult time using this kit? Would like to hear more responses.

SweetMelissa2007 Posted 12 May 2009 , 7:42pm
post #4 of 19

The first time I did it I attached the pieces with BC frosting and that DID NOT WORK! The pieces all fell off on the way! The second time I attached them with melted chocolate. They were much stronger but I still put it together at the party just in case!

noyhoward Posted 12 May 2009 , 7:51pm
post #5 of 19