Cake Pricing????

Decorating By Angela93 Updated 14 May 2009 , 4:57pm by weirkd

Angela93 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Angela93 Posted 11 May 2009 , 5:43pm
post #1 of 12

I'm new to cake decorating and I've only done freebees for useful practice.... I have a lot of people requesting cakes for cost now and have no idea what to charge!!! what does everyone else charge? for example, i'm making a 12x18 sheet cake with the 3-D elmo face on top for a friend-of-a-friend and I'm charging $40. She agreed but I really have no idea if that was a fair price for me and for her!

11 replies
indydebi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
indydebi Posted 11 May 2009 , 6:19pm
post #2 of 12

First, welcome to the best source of cake-info in the world!!!

If you haven't had a chance to scan thru the Business Forum, grab a big glass of tea, kick back, and spend a couple of hours reading thru all of those posts. You'll find lots and LOTS of posts on this subject.

Pricing is very subjective ... depends on the market, your area, etc.

But I think $40 is way too low for that cake. A 12x18 serves 54, so you're under $1/serving with just that one. A 3-D cake is usually priced much higher than sheet cakes.

Just as a guidelline, I get $75+ for a 12x18 alone.

Angela93 Posted 11 May 2009 , 6:40pm
post #3 of 12

WOW! I had no idea I was that far off! So people really pay that much for a birthday cake?! well thats good for ur makers!icon_smile.gif At least I know better for next time. Thanks for the adviceicon_smile.gif

missyd4e Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
missyd4e Posted 11 May 2009 , 11:43pm
post #4 of 12

I struggled with this for a long time. I just got Cake Boss for mother's day and LOVE it. You put the price in for every ingrediant and it calculates the cost of your cake and then it will calculate your hourly rate for you and tell you how much the cake costs. It also keeps track of all your orders.