How To Handle Large Cakes While Stacking W/out Tearing

Decorating By J1977 Updated 13 May 2009 , 9:40pm by LisaR64

J1977 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
J1977 Posted 11 May 2009 , 3:10pm
post #1 of 11

Any good techniques or tutorials on how to handle large cakes 14" and over w/out tearing?

I had the bottom layer filled and had no idea how to get the top 14" out of the pan and on top of the filling w/out making a huge mess. It ended up okay but there was definately some patchwork going on.

Thanks in advance.

10 replies
cakeschmake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cakeschmake Posted 11 May 2009 , 4:08pm
post #2 of 11

I am far from an expert but I have dealt with some large sizes like that.
I usually have my cakes either frozen or very very cold when I start to decorate.
Also you can turn it out of the pan onto a cake board then carefully slide it off of the board onto the first layer.

Hope this helps, maybe some others can give some better advice icon_smile.gif

bakingatthebeach Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
bakingatthebeach Posted 12 May 2009 , 12:28pm
post #3 of 11

I always freeze the one thats going on top so I can lift it up and place it on easily, or, have it on a cake board, line the edge to the the edge of the bottom one, and flip it onto the filling.

leah_s Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
leah_s Posted 12 May 2009 , 1:07pm
post #4 of 11

The cake comes out of the pan to cool on a rack.
Then it gets leveled.
Then you slide a cardboard under it and move it over to where it will be stacked.
Then pick it up and slide it on top of your bottom layer.

J1977 Posted 12 May 2009 , 1:32pm
post #5 of 11

Thanks everybody!

pattigunter Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
pattigunter Posted 12 May 2009 , 1:37pm
post #6 of 11

Wilton has come out with a cake lifter - which I have bought and used very successfully on a 14" round. Havent tried it on anything larger since I rarely make anything larger. But it works great.