Frustrated!

Decorating By SarahsSweets2006 Updated 16 May 2009 , 1:16pm by JenniferMI

SarahsSweets2006 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SarahsSweets2006 Posted 11 May 2009 , 3:49am
post #1 of 14

I didn't know where to post this, and I am sure there are 1,000,000 posts on this topic but I need to blow some steam off right now.

I am getting REALLY frustrated with people wanting cakes and then backing out bc if the price!!! I am a student and word spread in my major that I make cakes. I post all my cakes on my facebook and people "ooo and ahhh" over them all day every day. People tell me that they want me to make them cakes, then it comes to telling them a price and then they BACK OUT! This has happened 3x in a row. I am sorry but I have made enough of these things to know that I can not give them away, I need to make something on them. I don't know if they think that because they are my classmates (friends) that I am going to make a 3D cake which serves 25 people for $20. I don't think so. And I don't want to bargin with them and drop my prices. Oh yeah, then I have other friends who say, "Oh man! You can charge $300 for those cakes!"

Can anyone give me any input on how they deal with similar situations?
Thanks for your time.

13 replies
StaceyCakes75 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
StaceyCakes75 Posted 11 May 2009 , 3:56am
post #2 of 14

I feel your frustration but College students are probably not your best target group. Nobody in college can afford that kind of cake. icon_wink.gif

AverageMom Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
AverageMom Posted 11 May 2009 , 4:01am
post #3 of 14

I agree with the first response....you are looking in the wrong place for clients. And whatever you do, don't lower your prices (or do it for free!) because then the word will really get around fast!

Sweetcakes23 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Sweetcakes23 Posted 11 May 2009 , 4:07am
post #4 of 14