Am I The Only One Who Think This Way?

Decorating By ZlatkaT Updated 17 May 2009 , 1:37am by anasasi

ZlatkaT Posted 9 May 2009 , 7:44pm
post #1 of 51

Yes I am a newbie in cake decorating, and just recently finished my cake classes. So far I worked with fondant 4 times. I just can not get over that I spent so much time playing with fondant, flowers, etc, and when you serve the cake, people won't eat it. It hurts me, all they eat is plain cake with a touch of frosting, everything else is trash. I tried 3 fondants recipe so far, but the same result. I don't like it either. I tried MMF, Michel's foster and some Czech recipe "false marzipan" - (so far the best of the taste, but has issues). There must be something more tasty out there. I would not mind to use store bought fondant for decoration, but for covering the cake I have to figure out something better. Is that just me who think that cake should be eaten as it serves, and not for look? I just feel sorry for people who spent so much money for fondant cake, not cake, but show.
I am not giving up! I love to learn something new, love to keep up with new technology, and LOVE the cakes you guys made. But the taste.
Oh, I can just keep writing, I better stop now. Just want to get my bug out of my head. So am I the only one...?

50 replies
teriwiley5 Posted 9 May 2009 , 7:52pm
post #2 of 51

Are you using Wilton's white fondant? (not very good)
CK products sells a good one - can't remember if it's Bakels or Pettinice?
Both are better than Wilton's. Any chocolate one is yummy!
If I'm doing fondant accents on a kids cake, I try to use MMF.
Same with cookies.

Minstrelmiss Posted 9 May 2009 , 7:56pm
post #3 of 51

I understand what you mean about eating the decorations but for me, it's too much sweet. While I use my fair share of icing to decorate, when it comes to enjoying my cake, I'm really all about the cake and like to keep the icing to a minimum. However, I sympathize icon_wink.gif