How Do I Store A Finished Cake Before Serving?

Decorating By ahousel1 Updated 11 Jun 2009 , 6:02pm by SugarFrosted

ahousel1 Posted 9 May 2009 , 6:47pm
post #1 of 5

Hi, I am pretty new to cake decorating having only made a few cakes for my kiddos birthdays with fondant or buttercream. For buttercream cakes, how do I store them if I finish them a day or two before serving? Actually, I guess I have the same question for fondant cakes too. I want to store them so that they stay "fresh" and untouched.

Thanks for your help!
April

4 replies
juleebug Posted 9 May 2009 , 6:59pm
post #2 of 5

I store mine in cake boxes in my oven (after it cools, of course.) It keeps my cakes safe from kids, pets, dust and anything else that could ruin them. They will stay fresh for several days that way. Just be sure you put a note on the oven door so you don't forget it'[s in there.

SugarFrosted Posted 9 May 2009 , 8:04pm
post #3 of 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by juleebug

I store mine in cake boxes in my oven (after it cools, of course.) It keeps my cakes safe from kids, pets, dust and anything else that could ruin them. They will stay fresh for several days that way. Just be sure you put a note on the oven door so you don't forget it'[s in there.

Oh Wow! You must have your family well trained, because that sounds so much like a disaster waiting to happen if I did that in my house...altho, I'd prolly only forget ONCE there was a finished cake stored in the oven.