Have You Ever Made Wilton's Gumpast Recipie?

Decorating By mareg Updated 14 May 2009 , 4:54pm by mareg

mareg Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mareg Posted 8 May 2009 , 11:23pm
post #1 of 22

If so how did you like it? How does it compare to the ready made wiltons?

Thanks!

21 replies
icer101 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
icer101 Posted 8 May 2009 , 11:29pm
post #2 of 22

i am a wilton teacher... i teach all gumpaste flowers at times.. i use to have the students make the recipe. that was before wilton came out with the premade.. the students had a hard time.. when , they came back to class the next week.. their gumpaste was way too soft.. thank goodness for the premade. i really love wiltons premade.. i love nick lodges recipe best of any.. but for premade.. wilton is my choice. i could go on and on about it.. ha! hth.. for me.. satin ice g/p is too soft.. others like it.. i use to use bakel... but now.. i only use wilton premade.. again, i make nick lodges recipe also..

Rylan Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Rylan Posted 8 May 2009 , 11:32pm
post #3 of 22

I've used it a year ago before I even knew the consistency of gumpaste. I personally didn't like all the preparation so I'd rather go with ready made.

cakeandpartygirl Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cakeandpartygirl Posted 8 May 2009 , 11:32pm
post #4 of 22

I can't answer the question as far as comparing it to the ready made, but I make it from the recipe except I tweaked it a bit and added all of the powdered sugar at the beginning. The first time I made it I didn't read the instructions throughly and so I added all of the sugar and it was ok and then the second time I followed the recipe and it didn't do too well.. It works great for me. I don't know if it is because I live in a humid environment. Where I live they don't always have the ready made and besides it is way less expensive to use the recipe.

tracycakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
tracycakes Posted 8 May 2009 , 11:49pm