Im New,i Really Need You Help With This!

Decorating By elkinchahin Updated 8 May 2009 , 5:22am by kansaswolf

elkinchahin Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
elkinchahin Posted 8 May 2009 , 4:50am
post #1 of 17

Im new in the whole baking thing, I used to bake just for me at home or family and friends, now Im doing it more often and hoping to go to Pastry School and open my own bakery.
I have never worked with fondant or gumpaste, they both kind of look the same to me, whats the effect on them. What is each used for? does gumpaste work better for flowers? Can someone help me please, Im planning in making a High School Musical cake for my niece, but Im debating what to use to make the decor.
I really appreciate it, when Im done with the cake I will post pictures.

16 replies
Texas_Rose Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Texas_Rose Posted 8 May 2009 , 4:52am
post #2 of 17

Fondant is for eating and gumpaste is not. You can make some really beautiful flowers with gumpaste, but they dry rock hard and can't be eaten. Fondant works for covering cakes and for making decorations.

SweetSweetCreations Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SweetSweetCreations Posted 8 May 2009 , 4:54am
post #3 of 17

Depending on what I am making I will either use Gumpaste or a 50/50 mix of Gumpaste and Fondant. The gumpaste dries faster than fondant. Gumpaste can be rolled very thin for realistic flowers.

elkinchahin Posted 8 May 2009 , 4:55am
post #4 of 17

Oh I thought gumpaste you were able to eat it! So is only for fancy decor but not edible. Ok thanks alot

Im sorry One more question, does fondant dries out hard? or does it stays soft, I want to make a standing stage for the cake, do I need to put some support, maybe dowels on the back and maybe some at from so it can hold it and high them with the curtain?

elkinchahin Posted 8 May 2009 , 4:57am
post #5 of 17

Oh I thought gumpaste you were able to eat it! So is only for fancy decor but not edible. Ok thanks alot