Needing Some Advice - Encouragment - Thoughts

Lounge By nikki72905 Updated 11 May 2009 , 12:03pm by ozcake

nikki72905 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
nikki72905 Posted 8 May 2009 , 3:47am
post #1 of 3

Hi!

I have been working with baking pretty much since I was old enough to stand -

I have been decorating for about 2 years.... maybe 1.5 years

My husband and I love to cook and want to open a bakery/bistro someday...

Now for my much needed advice...

I am thinking about going back to school and getting a culinary degree (Culinary Mangement - to be exact) What do you think about this?

My thoughts are, If my husband and or I have a degree, that we might be able to get a loan to start up a business a little easier... I would gain expertise and experience, and I would be furthering my current Associates Degree in General Studies.. Which I have wanted to do for a while. I have a few classes already done, in the program that I am interested in, mainly I would have to take the culinary classes and skills!

Thanks for all your thoughts, Encouragment, and Adivce.

2 replies
nonnyscakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
nonnyscakes Posted 8 May 2009 , 2:49pm
post #2 of 3

Wish I could give you advice, but I have some of the same questions as you. I can give you encouragement by telling you that no matter what you do with it in the end, learning is not a waste of time and that if this is something that you truly desire you should go for it. Best of Luck to you!

ozcake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ozcake Posted 11 May 2009 , 12:03pm
post #3 of 3
Quote:
Quote:

My thoughts are, If my husband and or I have a degree, that we might be able to get a loan to start up a business a little easier...