Ferrets Anyone??

Lounge By Auryn Updated 11 May 2009 , 9:39pm by Auryn

Auryn Posted 6 May 2009 , 7:05pm
post #1 of 5

I was wondering if anyone here has a ferret.

I am in the scouting stages of getting a pet.
I've been looking for dogs for months but none really have been a good match.

The idea of a ferret has been brought up. I've done a ton of online research. I was hoping to pick the brain of anyone here that has experience with them.

Here is the situation.
I live alone in a 1100 sqft 2 bd apt with a balcony.
I work in the family business so I could totally take my pet to work with me (is it ok to bring a ferret to the office if it stays on a leash?? too dangerous to let him run loose around here).
Almost every weekend either my boyfriend is at my place or I am at his. He loves pets so I could take the dog/ferret to his place.
Ferrets are legal in Florida and esp the 3 counties I go back and forth in.

any personal tips would be greatly appreciated to help me solve my
dog vs ferret dilemma

4 replies
Michellers Posted 6 May 2009 , 11:42pm
post #2 of 5

My husband had a ferret when we first started dating. He LOVES the little buggers. Ok, from an outsider perspective..they're cute, they're fun to play with, but they STINK. If you do get a ferret, either have the scent glands removed or there's shampoos that are supposed to reduce the stench. When I'd stay over at his house I remember waking up to a ferret playing with my feet under the blankets. They're very playful.

Butterfly27 Posted 7 May 2009 , 4:45am
post #3 of 5