Help Needed...traveling Over 700 Miles W/cake

Decorating By colabear71 Updated 5 May 2009 , 8:31pm by bakinglover

colabear71 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
colabear71 Posted 5 May 2009 , 6:18pm
post #1 of 8

I am traveling just over 700 miles tomorrow for my cousin's anniversary. I am making a cake, buttercream only. The party isn't til Saturday and I am leaving tomorrow...Wednesday. I don't have room there to bake or make buttercream, so I am thinking of baking my cake here today and making my buttercream and refrigerating it.

My question, what is the best way to take the cake? Should I just refrigerate it tonight or freeze it? I have never frozen a cake...so I don't know if you use plastic wrap then foil or foil then plastic wrap???

I am transporting the buttercream in a cooler w/ ice...i'm thinking I should just keep the cake in there too??

Any suggestions or tips would be greatly appreciated as this is my first time traveling with cake.

Kim

7 replies
KHalstead Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
KHalstead Posted 5 May 2009 , 6:28pm
post #2 of 8

I've travelled with 3-D carved cakes, and tiered cakes (only 2 tiers) fully assembled for over 600 miles!! If you don't even have it decorated then NO SWEAT!!! If you feel better taking it in a cooler then do that in case the car gets hot, other than that it should be easy as pie.......or cake! lol

SweetSweetCreations Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SweetSweetCreations Posted 5 May 2009 , 6:31pm
post #3 of 8

I would get some of the non skid shelf liner and put it under the box but I would also add it uner the cake inside the box since you are traveling so far. It should keep it from sliding at all. You can get it just about anywhere and it is really cheap.

colabear71 Posted 5 May 2009 , 6:38pm
post #4 of 8

The reason for the cooler is that is suppose to be 101 tomorrow when we are traveling...and if we stop to eat...it'll get way hot in the car.