Who Charged .75 Cents An Inch?

Baking By HeidiCrumbs Updated 5 May 2009 , 12:50pm by bakinccc

HeidiCrumbs Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
HeidiCrumbs Posted 4 May 2009 , 5:02pm
post #1 of 8

I remember seeing it recently but I have been looking for the post and I can't find it.

I was just wondering if people are OK with paying that? I don't want to do the $1 an inch for my small town but I think .75 an inch will be more what people will pay.

And then do you do it straight across the board, or for more detailed work do you charge more?

Thanks!!

Heidi.

7 replies
bakinccc Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
bakinccc Posted 4 May 2009 , 5:32pm
post #2 of 8

Hi Heidi -

I'm still so jealous of your new shop opening up soon. I wish you the best of luck with all that.

I've been doing cookies for 2 1/2 years now and have to say the hardest part in the beginning was knowing what to charge given the amount of detail of each different design. I decided when I started out that I didn't want to deal with "this cookie costs this much because of this amount of detail but that cookie is priced different because of more or less detail" so I priced them all the same thinking that on some orders I'd make less per hour and on some I'd make more and it would all even out. There have been lots of times when my customers simply trusted me to create something but I'd have no idea what I was going to actually do and how much detail I was going to put into it until I sat down and did the cookies. Then during the process I might decide to add sprinkles too, which is more time consuming. I'm not a big plan ahead type person...I work much better under pressure!!