Please Help! New To Portland, Or Area

Decorating By dallasgirl Updated 2 May 2009 , 8:46pm by Toptier

dallasgirl Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
dallasgirl Posted 2 May 2009 , 7:00pm
post #1 of 3

Hey bakers! I'm a 20 year old from Dallas, new to baking, and am looking for some advice....

My fiance and I are moving from Oklahoma State University in June to the Portland, OR area. Right now I'm a sophomore majoring in business and will be finishing up in the next 2-3 years (depending on whether or not credits transfer). I plan on attending a culinary institute and attaining my baking/pastry arts certificate in the fall and then going back to college. I've always loved baking cakes, pies, and sweets for friends and family but am new to using fondant and other professional techniques. Initially I was a hospitality major so I've taken some restaurant related courses and am also ServSafe certified. Although I don't have real training, I would really like to gain as much experience as possible learning about what it's like to work in and operate a bakery on a daily basis. I have an intense work ethic, the ability to stay professional and focused under stress, and always take initiative. I believe that experience is a key component of success and don't mind starting at the bottom and working my way up. Even if it means that my only job is to clean up after others, wash equipment/supplies, or take orders, I would be incredibly thankful for any opportunity that comes my way. If you have any suggestions or live in the Portland area and would be willing to take in a "newbie", please let me know.
Thank you so much for reading such a long note, have a great day!

Haley Ward

2 replies
MrsMabe Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
MrsMabe Posted 2 May 2009 , 8:23pm
post #2 of 3