Calling All Home/newbie Bakers!!

Decorating By nicolesprinkle Updated 2 May 2009 , 9:11pm by BeeBoos-8599_

nicolesprinkle Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
nicolesprinkle Posted 1 May 2009 , 3:15pm
post #1 of 14

I am a new home baker and recently have been doing a lot of cake orders. I have had at least 2 cakes a month (this is a lot for me). But I am having a hard time pricing my cakes and figuring out the whole deposit thing. I was wondering if anyone could share there price list/deposit list with me just as an example. Anyones input would be great, I just called the newbies because I am not at the level to be charging to much money.

I also wonder if anyone has figured out the breakdown of cost of making fondant,icing and cakes? I make MFF, Indydebi's Crisco-Based Buttercream and Kakeladi's ORIGINAL WASC cake recipe. Thanks!

13 replies
BeeBoos-8599_ Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
BeeBoos-8599_ Posted 1 May 2009 , 5:01pm
post #2 of 14

Hi Nicole! I am allways looking for other home bakers to "bond" with. I am a stay at home mom who does cakes for friends, family and refferals. I have a web site but do not promote my business to much as I don't need or want to be to busy. I also do about 2 cakes a month. my prices for a basic cake with no intricate art work is $1.00 a serving. If I am doing alot of art work or if it is a very time conssuming design then I add an "art fee" to my base price. This allows the client to alter thier order to fit a budget. As for deposits, I allways require a 50% deposit and do not start any work untill it has been recieved. I hope this helps. Feel free to put me on your buddy list if you want to talk more.

destinyrn Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
destinyrn Posted 1 May 2009 , 5:32pm
post #3 of 14