Assortment Of Questions - Need Help Plz!

Decorating By smartsexystylish Updated 6 May 2009 , 9:04pm by pattycakesnj

smartsexystylish Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
smartsexystylish Posted 30 Apr 2009 , 1:42pm
post #1 of 17

Hi There Fellow CC'ers!

I have compiled a list of questions I have been meaning to ask all week. Hopefully someone can help me out by answering one, many or all of them.

Thanks SOOO much!!! I'm such a n00b (But we all have to start somewhere right?)

1. I am doing a Wilton House Stand Cake - The standing up one and I'm putting 2 house together to make it more stable - That being said, I've never inserted dowels into anything before. Where/how would you suggest I insert them into the cake to make sure it stays up and arrive safely at the event? I'm really afraid of it falling down - I've never done this before!!!

2. Do you tell the customer where the dowels are located and what to do with them?

3. I can't find a box that would fit the cake completely. How would I give this to the customer when they pick it up? Leave the box lid open/off? Do I cover it with saran wrap or something to keep foreign materials off it???

4. How long does it take for colour flow to dry? (I'm making a skull and cross bones)

5. Is there any way to speed up colour flow to dry?

6. Can colour flow be put in the fridge/freezer to harden quicker/better?

7. Can colour flow go directly on icing? Should I wait til the icing has dried/hardened a bit before putting it on?

8. Can colour flow and icing come in contact for more than 24 hours without ruining or running? (The customer is picking up cupcakes the day before the event)

Thanks sooo much for reading this and hopefully helping me out!!! I really appreciate it! This is my 2nd and 3rd real orders for items I have never done before and I'm am such a n00b and don't have that much experience!!! icon_smile.gif