I Stink At Cake Cutting And Serving! Tips

Decorating By springlakecake Updated 30 Apr 2009 , 10:20pm by springlakecake

springlakecake Posted 30 Apr 2009 , 12:43pm
post #1 of 10

Hi y'all! It seem silly to be asking for tips on cutting the cake now since I have been hacking away for 3 years now LOL! Usually when I go to a party where I have made the cake, people ask me to cut it. I understand especially when it is a tiered or 3D cake. Really I wouldnt mind doing it, but I suck at it! I am not sure what I am doing wrong really. I usually have preferred a serrated knife over the other kind (see I don't even know the name!) for both buttercream and fondant. Though I saw where some people suggested not using serrated on fondant. Usually I can decently cut a wedge out of a round buttercream cake, but other than that, the cake ususally is coming apart when I transfer it to the plate at the torte, falling over, ending up as a little pile...Not so pretty. Any suggestions?

9 replies
brincess_b Posted 30 Apr 2009 , 3:09pm
post #2 of 10

if you look up indydebis website theres a page about cutting cakes... http://cateritsimple.com/_wsn/page10.html
hope it helpsicon_smile.gif
xx

goldenegg Posted 30 Apr 2009 , 3:25pm
post #3 of 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by merissa