Rolled Cookie Recipe

Baking By MOMONCALL456 Updated 1 May 2009 , 12:15pm by GeminiRJ

MOMONCALL456 Posted 29 Apr 2009 , 4:20am
post #1 of 17

I am a relative novice at cut out cookies
i want to make some for my best friend's baby shower- can anyone give me a fail proof recipe for cookies which will be fail prrof.
i have tried a bunch but none retain the shape
please help- need to work on them this weekend
thanks in advance

16 replies
GeminiRJ Posted 29 Apr 2009 , 8:23pm
post #2 of 17

Use the NFSC recipe from this site. I use a very, very similar recipe. The only real difference is that the recipe I use is half the size. And I never chill the dough. Mix and cut and bake!

1 cup butter
1 cup sugar
2 tsp. vanilla
1 large egg
2 tsp. baking powder
3 cups flour

Cream together the butter and sugar until light and fluffy (about 3 min). Add the egg and vanilla and beat until well mixed. In a separate bowl, mix together the flour and baking powder. Add the flour mixture to the creamed mixture by thirds, mixing only until combined. Lightly flour a sheet of waxed paper. Place a disk of the dough onto the surface and lightly dust with flour. Roll your dough to 1/4" thickness (if you place a 1/4" dowel on each side of the paper and roll your rolling pin along them you should have an even dough thickness for your cookies). Bake on ungreased cookie sheets at 350 degrees for 10-12 minutes.

GayeG Posted 29 Apr 2009 , 8:30pm
post #3 of 17

Yummy! Thanx for sharing your version Gemini =)

shelli72 Posted 29 Apr 2009 , 8:35pm
post #4 of 17

Could you use this recipe for cut-outs also?

GayeG Posted 29 Apr 2009 , 9:03pm
post #5 of 17

I cant speak for Gemini but I believe thats what its for shelli!!!

bakinccc Posted 29 Apr 2009 , 10:16pm
post #6 of 17

I use the exact same recipe as Gemini and love it. It spreads a little but still retains the shapes well.

CakeDiva73 Posted 29 Apr 2009 , 10:48pm
post #7 of 17