If I Mix Fruit Filling...

Decorating By CookiezNCupcakez Updated 29 Apr 2009 , 2:09am by CookiezNCupcakez

CookiezNCupcakez Posted 27 Apr 2009 , 1:06am
post #1 of 10

Into my cake and then bake, will it be ok to sit out ? I know pies sit out all the time but I just want to be sure icon_redface.gif

Thanks All

9 replies
CookiezNCupcakez Posted 27 Apr 2009 , 3:12am
post #2 of 10

BUMP BUMP icon_sad.gif

ceshell Posted 27 Apr 2009 , 5:10am
post #3 of 10

Generally speaking, if it's baked INTO the cake as you are describing, then it should be shelf stable for at least a few days. The question is...for how MANY days, and that would depend on a litany of scientific factors that I have no personal knowledge of icon_biggrin.gif. The problem with fruits and cakes needing refrigeration is usually when the fruits are used as filling. As filling they retain their full moisture and that moisture causes spoilage pretty quick. However, baking them into the product is a whole different dynamic.

When I bake apple-banana cupcakes they are fine to sit out. Ditto pumpkin bread. Blueberry muffins...etc.

Sorry, that's the best I can do; can't give you a definitive "green light" on the subject as I wouldn't want to steer you wrong and make you ill. But for what it's worth I've never heard of cakes w/fruit baked in, needing to be refrigerated. Maybe I just haven't come across those recipes though?!

aliciag829 Posted 27 Apr 2009 , 5:17am
post #4 of 10

Well I don't know if they *have* to be refrigerated, but when I make cakes with fruit filling swirled into them, I always refrigerate them because it seems like they get moldy faster at room temp. I just refrigerate to make them last longer. JMO.

ceshell Posted 27 Apr 2009 , 6:41am
post #5 of 10