Sheet Cake In The Pan?

Decorating By Bronty Updated 27 Apr 2009 , 1:03am by indydebi

Bronty Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Bronty Posted 26 Apr 2009 , 7:48pm
post #1 of 9

I'm a novice cake decorator & have been asked to make a half-sheet cake for an informal bridal shower. Is it ever appropriate to leave the sheet cake in its aluminum pan and serve from it ? or is that tacky? How would you "flip" the cake out and onto a cardboard?
Thanks!

8 replies
brincess_b Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
brincess_b Posted 26 Apr 2009 , 9:03pm
post #2 of 9

depends on what the bride wants. usually when people order cake, they expect it presented on a cke board,decorated round the side.
no advice on fliping it out, not done that kind of cake, but id go for putting the board (i always cool my cakes on a wire rack though) on top of the pan, and flipping it all as one.
xx

poohsmomma Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
poohsmomma Posted 26 Apr 2009 , 9:08pm
post #3 of 9

I wouldn't leave the cake in the pan...definitely tacky...
When I take my cakes out of the pan, I level the top if it needs leveling, lay a piece of waxed paper on top, then a cooling rack, and flip. Then I ease off the pan. I cover it loosely while it cools. After it's cooled, you can transfer it to a cake board.

aliciag829 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
aliciag829 Posted 26 Apr 2009 , 9:23pm
post #4 of 9

Yes, you should put it on a cardboard. There's nothing pretty about a metal sheet pan at a bridal shower, no matter how informal. icon_wink.gif lol Plus, you might not get the sheet pan back. JMO

indydebi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
indydebi Posted 26 Apr 2009 , 10:09pm
post #5 of 9