Any Suggestions?

Decorating By Rylan Updated 29 Apr 2009 , 10:30pm by Rylan

Rylan Posted 26 Apr 2009 , 12:49pm
post #1 of 13

First of all, THANKS for your interest to read this.

I am about to make my 3rd fondant cake. I have little experience with fondant and I am completely totally ambitious. I've only done two fondant cakes (check my photos) and both of them had original designs that didn't work out so I had to change the design during the process.

I am planning on making a life sized dress cake. Something similar to what Elisa Strauss made on the first episode of the Last Cake Standing.
I already have planned for a stand but I have tons of questions that I hope to be answered.

What type of cake can I use that would be great for carving? I'm guessing pound cakes? Can I use the original WASC recipe since I find it easier to make?

What are your tips on carving a huge cake? Do I put a thick amount of buttercream filling or a really thin one?

For people who have made a dress cake, do you have any suggestions, advice and tips?

I am hoping I can pull this off because Once I go wrong with it, then I have no choice but abandon the plan or just have to start over again.

12 replies
kakeladi Posted 26 Apr 2009 , 5:52pm
post #2 of 13

I have lots of suggestions but...... unfortunately no help icon_smile.gif
I've never done anything like that. Of course I'm partial to my original WASC icon_smile.gif But actually wondering if it will be sturdy enough for such an undertaking? That's what I would choose but not really sure........
I know, I'm lots! of help ha??? sorry just some random thought.

clovely Posted 26 Apr 2009 , 6:31pm
post #3 of 13

define "life sized"

khkakes Posted 27 Apr 2009 , 1:15am
post #4 of 13

Girl you are ambitious! I have no suggestions but can't wait to see how this one turns out!

ceshell Posted 27 Apr 2009 , 6:06am
post #5 of 13