Frosting Question...

Decorating By Elise87 Updated 26 Apr 2009 , 12:16pm by Elise87

Elise87 Posted 26 Apr 2009 , 10:17am
post #1 of 13

I'm sorry for this question but i am new to all these frosting recipes, but i was wondering is there any other type of buttercream besides the simple one (icing sugar, butter, flavouring and milk) that is good but will also crust the same as the simple one? Any help is appreciated icon_smile.gif

12 replies
Rylan Posted 26 Apr 2009 , 10:41am
post #2 of 13

There is the cream cheese frosting that will crust. I believe Edna has a recipe on her website.

Melnick Posted 26 Apr 2009 , 10:44am
post #3 of 13

I only use the simple one because I just make them for my family. But if you have a look in the recipe section you'll find tonnes of recipes for buttercream and if you just do a general search on the site I think you'll find heaps of threads where they talk about what the various buttercreams do.

Melnick Posted 26 Apr 2009 , 10:45am
post #4 of 13

Oh yeah - when they talk about Crisco that equates to Copha for us

Elise87 Posted 26 Apr 2009 , 10:55am
post #5 of 13

yeh i see alot have things in them that i have no idea where to get and yes alot say crisco in them, thats like a vegetable fat or something isn't it? The problem is i really don't want to use that since it seems so unhealthy, but so many recipes have it, i guess i am just being fussy icon_sad.gif

Elise87 Posted 26 Apr 2009 , 11:01am
post #6 of 13

i'm so sorry to pop in another question while i think of it cose i know people are always asking these question all the time but could i use margarine in buttercreams? Would that be an ok substitute for butter? Could it be a substitute for that copha/crisco? Sorry i am clueless lol

sweetjan Posted 26 Apr 2009 , 11:01am
post #7 of 13

The cream cheese icing as mentioned ahead of me is quite good and does crust. I'll send the recipe if you can't find it.

Melnick Posted 26 Apr 2009 , 11:11am
post #8 of 13