Flower ?

Decorating By Rosebud22 Updated 24 Apr 2009 , 5:47pm by ambernd

Rosebud22 Posted 24 Apr 2009 , 12:55pm
post #1 of 13

Has anyone had any success using the candy from candy molds to decorate a cake with? Im making an edible image hannah montanna cake for my DD and wanted some bursts of color using either stars or flowers. I dont think the kids will like fondant. I'm pretty new to decorating and afraid I might mess it up if I try to pipe the flowers. Thank You for your help!

12 replies
crisseyann Posted 24 Apr 2009 , 1:13pm
post #2 of 13

Hi and welcome to CC. icon_smile.gif I personally have never used chocolate molds to decorate a cake but see no reason why you couldn't. Sounds like a cute AND simple way to add some color. Great idea. Be sure to post pics of your cake.

CookieMeister Posted 24 Apr 2009 , 1:16pm
post #3 of 13

I've never done it, but there's no reason you couldn't. It would sure be simple! I think the only problem would be if you wanted them on the side of the cake - gravity might not be your friend. Not sure how you'd adhere them other than pressing them into the icing.

ambernd Posted 24 Apr 2009 , 1:35pm
post #4 of 13

They probably would eat marshmallow fondant. I think it is ok in small doses and my fiance loves it and he is just like a kid! But if you still want to go the chocolate route, find a picture of a star or heart or flower or whatever you want to do then put parchment paper over it. Melt your candy melts and color them the colors that you want and put them in a pastry bag and use a #1 tip to trace your pictures and color them in. You can switch colors after each color hardens. After the whole piece hardens lift it off and the side that was down will face up on your cake. The Horton cake in my cake pictures was done this way as well as the little cowboy on top of the western cake if it helps you to see an example of what I'm talking about. I hope this helps I know I did not explain very well. It's hard to put in writing.