Which Fondant Is Best?

Decorating By Cat30 Updated 1 May 2009 , 3:07am by Cables4fun

Cat30 Posted 23 Apr 2009 , 5:17pm
post #1 of 23

Hi,
I am a novice to cake decorating. I have been doing my kids cakes for forever. I have taken the Wilton classes and do great with buttercream icing. The only fondant that I have tried so far is the Wilton kind, and don't care for it. I have also tried to make my own out of marshmallow and didn't care for it either. icon_razz.gif

Which fondant do you guys use? Does it taste really good? or do any of you have a recipe for a great tasting fondant? I would appreciate any help I can get. Thanks soooo much.

Cathy icon_biggrin.gif

22 replies
cylstrial Posted 23 Apr 2009 , 6:11pm
post #2 of 23

I really like Satin Ice and Fondx. =o) Satin Ice is cheaper, so I usually go use it. =o) But they are both great and taste so much better than the Wilton brand.

roxxxy_luvs_duff Posted 23 Apr 2009 , 6:18pm
post #3 of 23

I like Fondx and Satin ice for colored fondant

tootsie927 Posted 23 Apr 2009 , 6:26pm
post #4 of 23

I have just started using Satin Ice and like it much better than the Wilton
fondant. Everyone says that it tastes much better, I can not bring myself to taste any of it. The Satin Ice is vanilla flavored and I would guess that is what makes it taste better, it is much softer than the Wilton and does already come colored which is great. I thing you will be pleased if you try it.

tiggy2 Posted 23 Apr 2009 , 6:29pm
post #5 of 23

I prefer choc-o-pan but I've heard Michele Foster's recipe on this site is very tasty and easy to work with.

CookieMeister Posted 23 Apr 2009 , 7:00pm
post #6 of 23

Love Michele Foster's! Easiest to make too. I love letting my mixer with the dough hook do most of the work. icon_biggrin.gif

Rylan Posted 24 Apr 2009 , 12:06pm
post #7 of 23

I currently use Satin Ice but I'm switching to Jennifer Dont'z premade fondant recipe.

cylstrial Posted 24 Apr 2009 , 7:31pm
post #8 of 23