Are Wilton Gumpaste Flower Classes Worth The Money?

Decorating By sweetcravings Updated 23 Apr 2009 , 10:14pm by Maris307

sweetcravings Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sweetcravings Posted 23 Apr 2009 , 5:00pm
post #1 of 11

Well, i've come to realize that as much as i try my gumpaste flower efforts have failed. I spent hours this week with a gumpaste flower book in one hand and gumpaste in another trying to make stephanosis (sp?), forget me nots, lillys and they all pretty much suck. icon_cry.gif I dunno what i'm doing wrong but they look horrible. Up untill this point i have been pretty much self taught and never needed to take a class but now i think the time is near. icon_redface.gif I'm tired of wasting gumpaste and needless hours trying to perfect something that i clearly am doing wrong from the get go. So, I was wondering if anyone has taken any Wilton gumpaste flower courses and what you thought of them? Are they worth the money? What types of flowers do you learn?

Suzanne

10 replies
Lee15 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Lee15 Posted 23 Apr 2009 , 6:44pm
post #2 of 11

I am not certain about Canada, but here in the US the only gumpaste flowers that Wilton teach are the rose, daisy, carnation and a fantasy flower. If you are having such a difficult time, it's not a bad place to start. You should learn some basics from it.

I studied gumpaste flowers with Scott Clark Woolley and his flowers are life-like. He has several videos that may help. They are expensive but so worth it.

CookieMeister Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CookieMeister Posted 23 Apr 2009 , 6:51pm
post #3 of 11

I tried gumpaste flowers on my own - I think I tried using the instruction from a Nicholas Lodge book (I checked it out from the library, so I can't remember what book it was), and failed miserably. I am taking the Wilton course in May, plus a 2 day intensive course on gumpaste flowers next weekend. I'm stoked about it.