Cake Flour Vs Regular Flour? What Is Your Preference?

Decorating By CarrieBear Updated 23 Apr 2009 , 2:59am by CarrieBear

CarrieBear Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CarrieBear Posted 22 Apr 2009 , 8:22pm
post #1 of 7

I am still learning and trying new recipes, I have never used 'cake flour' before I have just used regular flour my whole life for baking.
Are there advantages or disadvantages to using cake flour, I want to primarly use the WASC recipe .
over all does it make a huge difference?

anyones experience and opinions on this are appreciated!! icon_biggrin.gif

6 replies
isabow2 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
isabow2 Posted 22 Apr 2009 , 8:27pm
post #2 of 7

Thanks so much for asking this question as I'm also curious about cake flour vs all purpose flour. Also, for those answering the OP's question, are they interchangeable? Can I use all purpose flour in a recipe that calls for cake flour?

Sugarflowers Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Sugarflowers Posted 22 Apr 2009 , 9:20pm
post #3 of 7

For my cakes I use cake flour. It is made with a softer wheat so it gives a softer crumb. Since I started using it my cakes are taller, lighter, and have a wonderful tight crumb.

There are directions for how much cake flour to use in place of all-purpose. I gave up on that many years ago and my cakes always come out beautifully. I just use the same amount of cake flour as I did all-purpose flour. This statement may start a fire storm, but it's what I do. What anyone else does is entirely up to them.

All-purpose flour can be used, but it's actually better for things like pie crusts and biscuits. It's not likely anyone will complain if you use all-purpose flour for your cakes. Sometimes it's a matter of economics rather than the size of the crumb of the cake.

HTH

Michele

PinkZiab Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
PinkZiab Posted 22 Apr 2009 , 10:44pm
post #4 of 7