Cake Resume... Help!

Decorating By CakeInfatuation Updated 22 Apr 2009 , 6:10pm by CookieMeister

CakeInfatuation Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CakeInfatuation Posted 22 Apr 2009 , 5:37pm
post #1 of 3

Okay... so we have our house on the market, we are searching for a new home, and in June my current job ends and I have to find something else. Right now, starting a cake business from home seems overwhelming so I'm searching for a "real job" in a bake shop.

NOW...

I sent photos and a short e-mail to several bakeries. I just got a response from one. They said

Thanks for your pictures and email Stacey. If you could forward a resume including any bakery work related history that would be great. Our business is growing and there may be a need for extra help.
Thanks Again,
xxxxx's Bakery

I have NO bakery experience and no bakery resume. My resume consists of administrative work, childcare, and graphic design. How do I do this? I'm a hobbyist that wants to decorate cakes for someone. I feel so inadequate when it comes to tackling this.

I'd be thrilled with any help or guidance you can give me. Thanks guys!!

-Stacey

2 replies
cakes22 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cakes22 Posted 22 Apr 2009 , 6:10pm
post #2 of 3

So, I think you should be honest in saying that you have no current bakery experience, but you are experienced in areas that may be useful for their establishment.

administrative= helping out in other areas non-cake related, icon_smile.gif
childcare= knowing how to deal with bridezillas & other childlike people. If you can deal with kids you can deal with just about everyone. Your people skills are excellent icon_wink.gif
graphic design= you approach decorating a cake differently due to your graphic design knowledge, and may be able to extend their realm of what they offer currently icon_twisted.gif

Take your skills, and work with them, but be honest about not having "bakery experience".