Buttercream Roses..help Please.

Decorating By CanadianCakin Updated 22 Apr 2009 , 4:25pm by imamommy1205

CanadianCakin Posted 22 Apr 2009 , 3:34pm
post #1 of 14

Ok everyone please tell me there is a tick or tip I'm missing! I am new to this and I was practicing roses last night. My husband thought they were great but I don't know it just wasn't quite right!
To me it seems that on the finished rose the base is to wide. I'm thinking too that maybe I don't have quite the right consistency of bc because I do the base and when I'm starting the petals the base falls to the other side!
So what am I missing???? Please any tips would be greatly appreciated I'm getting frusterated that it's not perfect!!

Thanks so much,

13 replies
cakes22 Posted 22 Apr 2009 , 3:46pm
post #2 of 14

Are you using a flower nail? Just asking cause when I made flowers on a FN they looked like cabbages. Then in my cake decorating class the instructor did hers on a wooden skewer. I tried that and it worked better. Still kinda cabbagey but not too bad.

Try fiddling with you icing consistancy. I know some who buy Wiltons White Decorator icing just for making flowers, cause it seems to be the right consistancy.

Good luck........ icon_smile.gif

Cupcakeluv24 Posted 22 Apr 2009 , 3:48pm
post #3 of 14

Do you have a rose tip? I assume that's what your using? Try making the base smaller before piping the petals on.HTH

sweetideas Posted 22 Apr 2009 , 3:48pm
post #4 of 14

wilton has a how-to on their site. Without a picture, I'm not sure what you think you're doing wrong. My roses look like cabbages, and the bottoms are fat, so it would be good to know what I am doing wrong, too. icon_smile.gif Mine don't look like they are supposed to, either. icon_smile.gif

chas21 Posted 22 Apr 2009 , 3:58pm
post #5 of 14

Just think of the base as a hershey kiss. That's what we used in class to practice with.

skeet1zp Posted 22 Apr 2009 , 4:01pm
post #6 of 14

Here's the Wilton video on making roses.