Cake Virgin...help!

Decorating By Cookie-Queen Updated 24 Apr 2009 , 11:27pm by Narie

Cookie-Queen Posted 22 Apr 2009 , 1:33pm
post #1 of 12

Hi, I'm a total newbie to cakes. I made one for my daughter's 1st birthday with yellow cake mix and wilton fondant. It was a little cute but it tasted horrrriibbllee. I pretty much gave up after her 2nd birthday. I made a tall cake which was wayyy too tall and literally fell over the table (ouch!) Since then it has been store-bought cakes. She's going to be 8 this year and I've decided to try again!

I need a fool-proof recipe, please! The theme is pink pirates. Lots of hot pink, black and little skulls with bows (lol). I'm making cookies to decorate the cake but my biggest concern is the taste of the cake & frosting. She loves chocolate and strawberry flavors. It's only going to be a 10" round for the bottom and maybe a 6" round for the top. I have no clue how many servings that is but I figure any left overs will be consumed icon_smile.gif

Thank you all so much in advance!!

11 replies
Sugarflowers Posted 22 Apr 2009 , 3:55pm
post #2 of 12

As you will soon read, Wilton fondant is about the worst tasting fondant available. There are many other brands that taste much better or you can make your own. Here is my recipe (it has extra information at the bottom): http://www.cakecentral.com/cake_recipe-7446-1-Michele-Fosters-Fondant.html

However, since it has been a while, it's my suggestion to skip the fondant completely. It's a lot of work and takes a lot of practice to make it look nice. Covering a 10" cake is not as easy as it sounds, even with good fondant.

I'm a scratch baker so I couldn't tell you which brand to use if you prefer to use mixes. I know there are some good ones available, I just don't know which one. Many people "doctor" up a cake mix to add flavor variations and extend the amount of batter. Maybe someone else here will be able to answer those questions for you.

Good luck with your daughter's cake.

HTH