Anyone Here Use Quickbooks & Is A Home Baker?

Business By mom2spunkynbug Updated 26 Apr 2009 , 9:49pm by CakeForte

mom2spunkynbug Posted 22 Apr 2009 , 6:08am
post #1 of 10

If so, would you mind me asking a few questions every now & then?

I've also found the online forums for QB, but I don't know how long it'll take for my questions to be answered on there.

I feel like I'm in over my head here! I thought QB would be simple - I used it everyday when I used to work full time outside the home (but that was like four years ago). And I can't even get past the "interview" part of the beginning!

I feel like I need an accountant, but I do not have that kind of money yet!

icon_cry.gif

9 replies
-Tubbs Posted 22 Apr 2009 , 1:35pm
post #2 of 10

I'm by no means an expert, but I've also used QB outside of caking, and plan to phase it in as my home-based business builds. I was planning on buying it, but Simple Start is available for free, so I'm thinking of just using that to start with - I think you can upgrade quite easily to 'higher' versions if you need more functionality.

Regarding professional advice - I think a bookkeeper would be a good starting point, if you can't afford an accountant. You could consider advertising and offering some kind of barter service. I want a website built and was thinking of trying something like that.

something_sweet Posted 22 Apr 2009 , 1:43pm
post #3 of 10

I use Microsoft Accounting Express. It is free and easy to use. I have never worked with Quick Books, but I have worked with Peach Tree, and it had to be set up by an accountant first. I am sorry that you are have trouble with it.

Here is the link for MS Acct Express: http://download.cnet.com/Microsoft-Office-Accounting-Express/3000-2066_4-10599757.html

pinkflower1212 Posted 22 Apr 2009 , 1:56pm
post #4 of 10