Help! Yellow Cake Issues!

Decorating By cserwa Updated 23 Apr 2009 , 8:05am by sayhellojana

cserwa Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cserwa Posted 22 Apr 2009 , 1:47am
post #1 of 15

I posted a similar thread last week because one of my go-to recipes failed me. I am a scratch-only baker, fairly new. Probably made 25 or so scratch cakes, and they're always great. Last week, I made a yellow cake. The batter was super thick going into the pan. When I tried to remove from the pan, it all stuck to the bottom of the pan. When I finally got it out, it all came out in pieces, so it was obviously ruined. It tasted "off" when it was finished. So I tried posting here to troubleshoot and didn't receive an answer that fixed it. So I ventured out. In the last week, I have tried the mermaid bakery yellow cake, Serious_cakes yellow cake, Toba Garrett's, and Sylivia W's yellow cake. They're all giving me the same issue. They're light in color and too thick. They are way too thick to spread nicely in the pan like normal cake batter. I don't understand it. My yellow cakes never gave me problems, and now every recipe is doing the same thing. All of my ingredients are good. I tested my baking powder - good there. I double checked each ingredient, each measurement. I'm so confused! Any helpers???

14 replies
myslady Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
myslady Posted 22 Apr 2009 , 4:18am
post #2 of 15

What are you greasing your pans with?

THere is a recipe on here for a homemade pan grease that works pretty well.

melhoneybee Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
melhoneybee Posted 22 Apr 2009 , 4:27am
post #3 of 15

Are you making sure all of your ingredients are room temp before baking??

Misdawn Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Misdawn Posted 22 Apr 2009 , 4:29am
post #4 of 15

have you checked your oven temp?

aliciag829 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
aliciag829 Posted 22 Apr 2009 , 4:37am
post #5 of 15