Flavouring Fondant?

Decorating By PTBUGZY1 Updated 27 Apr 2009 , 5:51pm by Dizzymaiden

PTBUGZY1 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
PTBUGZY1 Posted 21 Apr 2009 , 2:46pm
post #1 of 21

I have not attempted making my own fondant yet (I will one day) I use Wilton ready made, yes I hear many of you groaning but I like it and being a beginner I know it"ll work everytime. My question is.......can I add a flavor to it and still get the same results? I like working with fondant but not many people I know like to eat it they all prefer BC, so maybe if I flavour it they'll come round. icon_smile.gif

20 replies
Kimmers971 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Kimmers971 Posted 21 Apr 2009 , 2:56pm
post #2 of 21

I'm a beginner too and have been using Wilton (although I did just order Satic Ice for cakes I have on order). Anyway, I added 2 capfuls of clear vanilla to a 5lb block and kneaded it really good to distribute and it came out pretty good. I'd think any clear flavoring would work the same and just add it to your liking.

Good Luck!

tx_cupcake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
tx_cupcake Posted 21 Apr 2009 , 2:57pm
post #3 of 21

Welcome fellow Texan! cowboy.gif

I have to be honest with you here. Adding flavoring to Wilton fondant is like spraying perfume on dog poop. It really won't help that much, and I doubt you will convert any fondant haters with this tactic.

I know Wilton is cheap, and I know it's consistent. That's why I use it on all of my dummies. Unfortunately Wilton fondant is the reason (IMO) that most people think they hate fondant.

I like to make my own. It's cheaper, and it tastes better than anything out of a package. I make Michele Foster's fondant. It is easy peasy to make, and most importantly, I get to control the quality of my product. Just yesterday I made it using a nice Belgian chocolate... let's just say I had a hard time not shoving it all in my mouth icon_lol.gif !

If you would like to try making it, here is the link to the recipe: