Wedding Cake Concerns

Decorating By shanadg Updated 22 Apr 2009 , 4:17pm by shanadg

shanadg Posted 21 Apr 2009 , 2:38pm
post #1 of 17

Thank you for taking the time to read my questions, I am fairly new to cake decorating..well at least to wedding cakes. I have been doing kids birthday cakes etc. for the past year or so but now have a wedding cake to make, in fact 3 this year to make.

My concerns are this: I use box cake mixes for the most part but find that the fondant seems to weigh it down a bit, am I not cooling the cake enough before...should it cool in the fridge even till the next day? Or should i be looking at a different cake recipe to make, are the box mixes too moist? And especially too moist to be stacking on top of one another?

Last question: Is the Wilton fondant really pure white or is there another way to make it wedding cake white, and also how do you make it a dark chocolate brown?

Thanks again & happy decorating!!

16 replies
__Jamie__ Posted 21 Apr 2009 , 2:57pm
post #2 of 17

Wilton is pure white! matter how pretty your cake is, everyone will remember how nasty the fondant was! I love wilton for dummies, and for accents that will not be eaten.

Cake mix is pretty moist, but since cakes do not support tiers above it, shouldn't matter. Your support structure is what supports it. Someone made reference to being able to stack a "cake" made out of Jello once, in theory it could be done, as there should be no weight at all on any of the tiers...but that's another story.

I would make a sturdier recipe, nothing with pudding.

After you fill your layers, let them sit a while, and then chill after the crumbcoat and apply fondant onto the chilled cake. This should avoid the smooshing effect.

brincess_b Posted 21 Apr 2009 , 3:57pm
post #3 of 17

box mixes are sometimes not the most sturdy of things, and fondant is quite heavy, so you might be better with a different recipie, WASC uses box mixes, but comes out sturdier.