Should I Consider

Business By cricket0616 Updated 20 Apr 2009 , 11:47pm by costumeczar

cricket0616 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cricket0616 Posted 20 Apr 2009 , 2:37pm
post #1 of 13

I have been a scratch baker for years, schooled by my grandmother. I have baked cakes and cookies for my family and friends, but never have sold any. This weekend I went to my son's baseball game and brought sugar cookies decorated as baseballs with each player's name on them. One of the mom's was so impressed, she asked me if I made cakes. I told her yes. (Not thinking she would want to pay me for a cake). She asked if I would consider making her godchild's first birthday cake. Well, my jaw dropped. I explained that I have only made cakes for family and friends, but I would think about it. She wants me to bring pictures of cakes that I have made. Challenge: I live in a state that does not allow home bakeries. I love baking and would like to do this, but am worried about the legal end of this. Should I thank her and tell her no or do I bake this one cake and see what happens.

12 replies
melhoneybee Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
melhoneybee Posted 20 Apr 2009 , 3:07pm
post #2 of 13

The likely-hood of it is, that if you do one cake (even many) for friends and family by word of mouth only, nothing bad will happen. It still is a risk though. Word of mouth is word of mouth and it gets around, you never know who might be listening, especially if you live in a smallish sort of town. If you do decide to bake illegally from home though, I would definitely not advertise because that could get you in trouble fast! Also, I know that other home bakers/cake ladies on here have said that they will do cakes but not take orders from anyone they don't know. Maybe that is a good idea for you?? Hope I helped. HTH!

cricket0616 Posted 20 Apr 2009 , 3:20pm
post #3 of 13