Health And Safety Concerns

Decorating By Rising_Flours Updated 21 Apr 2009 , 10:01pm by Cakepro

Rising_Flours Posted 20 Apr 2009 , 1:00am
post #1 of 11

I've been decorating cakes for about 2 years now. Very recently I applied for a business license, and built a bakery in my basement. As things are starting to get very real, I am starting to get very worried.

Before I was doing this, I ran a restaurant, and Food Safety concerns were paramount. I understand what needs to be what temperature, and what the high risk foods are etc.

When I started I used a simple decorator's buttercream, and marshmallow fondant. Essentially these things are fine to sit in room temperature for days with very little risk. I was not worried with health concerns to any great degree.

I now use a wide variety of icings including merangue butter cream and cream cheese icing. I am super paranoid of making my customers sick, but don't know how to keep things safe without ruining the cake.

Because a cake that is already covered in fondant (which most of mine are) should not go into the fridge, how do you keep the fillings cool, without ruining the fondant? Right now I just try to make them as close to the pick up date as possible (which is getting stressful) and keeping them in the coolest part of my house.

Where is the line between the safety of the product, and the aesthetics of the decorating? How do most people solve this issue?

10 replies
beachcakes Posted 20 Apr 2009 , 1:21am
post #2 of 11

Some commercial fondants can be refrigerated - FondX for one, and others have had success with SatinIce. When you bring it out of the fridge, it might sweat, but don't touch it and it will evaporate and be fine!

mkolmar Posted 20 Apr 2009 , 1:35am
post #3 of 11