How Much Butter Cream Do I Need?

Decorating By k33bl3r Updated 19 Apr 2009 , 12:47pm by Jenthecakelady

k33bl3r Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
k33bl3r Posted 19 Apr 2009 , 1:57am
post #1 of 8

Okay, I'll admit, I'm scared to death about ruining my friends wedding cake. It's a simple cake, but because I'm a newbie, and this is my first wedding cake, I have a million and one things to figure out. And I'm in need of some advice.

It's a 3 tiered cake. Simple Yellow cake, chocolate ganache torting, and butter cream icing. But I'm not sure how much icing I need for this cake. I make my butter cream myself, and found that for a full sheet cake, I needed one full batch and 2/3rds a batch on top of that.

How much would you guys make for a cake that will feed 100 people? Is there a standard? I also plan on crumb coating before doing a second, smoother coat, so I think I'll need more for that.

I'm just so scared. heh. PLEASE help!

7 replies
auntmamie Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
auntmamie Posted 19 Apr 2009 , 1:59am
post #2 of 8

What size cakes are you using, and how much decoration will there be?

leah_s Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
leah_s Posted 19 Apr 2009 , 2:06am
post #3 of 8

There's a handy chart in the Cake Bible by Rose Levy Bernbaum. it's a book that should be in your cake library, or at least check it out of your local library and copy the chart.

Laurascakefactory Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Laurascakefactory Posted 19 Apr 2009 , 2:07am
post #4 of 8

Depending on the sizes you plan on using I would say at least two batches.

Jenthecakelady Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Jenthecakelady Posted 19 Apr 2009 , 3:34am
post #5 of 8

I use the Wilton chart as a starting point. It depends on how much decoration you will be doing in BC. Here's a link: http://www.wilton.com/cakes/making-cakes/baking-wedding-cake-2-inch-pans.cfm

k33bl3r Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
k33bl3r Posted 19 Apr 2009 , 3:41am
post #6 of 8