When And How Long?

Decorating By TurtleGiraffe Updated 21 Apr 2009 , 3:01am by aquamom

TurtleGiraffe Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
TurtleGiraffe Posted 18 Apr 2009 , 6:19am
post #1 of 14

I'm new to fondant cakes and giving it a go for the first time for my daughters 3rd birthday on Sunday.

I am doing safari themed.

I want to cover the cardboard under the cake ( will be sticking out around cake about 3") with fondant - how long do I let that sit till I add the. Cake on to it?

Also, I am hand crafting the safari animals so that they are 3D figurines out of fondant. How long do I let those sit before adding them to the cake?

Thanks!

13 replies
bizatchgirl Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
bizatchgirl Posted 18 Apr 2009 , 6:33am
post #2 of 14

I'm trying to remember and I want to say at least 24 hours on your board, just to be sure it is fully dry. Otherwise, it will try to sink from the weight of your cake and your fondant could crack.

For figures, I would just add some gumpaste to help them dry quickly and I would say you can put those on your cake as soon as all of their 'parts' are firmly glued together. Maybe make them the night before just to be safe.

Hopefully someone else will answer too!!

aliciag829 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
aliciag829 Posted 18 Apr 2009 , 6:38am
post #3 of 14

When I cover my cake boards, with fondant, I add some Gumtex because it helps it dry faster. I use clear piping gel to glue the fondant to the board. The last time I did this, the fondant took about 2 days to dry. Personally, I like to use Gumtex to help figures dry faster, too.

KawaiiCakeCook Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
KawaiiCakeCook Posted 18 Apr 2009 , 6:46am
post #4 of 14

oh my gosh, i'm doing a safari cake too! You have to post it here when you're don!!!

TurtleGiraffe Posted 18 Apr 2009 , 6:49am
post #5 of 14